LBNL Masthead A-Z IndexBerkeley Lab mastheadU.S. Department of Energy logoPhone BookJobsSearch
2013 User Meeting Awards Print


Recipients of the 2013 Users' Executive Committee awards and the Student Poster Competition awards, were presented Tuesday, October 8, at the ALS User Meeting.


David A. Shirley Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement at the ALS

2013-shirleyThe David A. Shirley Award for Scientific Achievement went to Harald Ade, North Carolina State University, "For achievements in polymer science and in particular the elucidation of the chemical nano-morphology of complex materials used in polymer electronics."

David Shirley was a Professor of Chemistry at UC Berkeley and Director of LBNL from 1980 to 1989, and was instrumental in having the Advanced Light Source built.  He is now retired from the lab.

The award was funded by Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.








Klaus Halbach Award for Innovative Instrumentation at the ALS 

2013-halbach awardThe Klaus Halbach Award for Innovative Instrumentation at the ALS was awarded to, from leftAlessandra Lanzara, Andreas Schmid, Chris Jozwiak, Zahid Hussain, Gennadi Lebedev, and Nord Andresen, "For the development of a unique spin-resolved photoelectron spectrometer that provides a leap in detection efficiency and enables a new realm of probing the spin degree of freedom in matter."

Klaus Halbach was a senior staff scientist at LBNL who pioneered the development of undulators using permanent magnets, and other innovations in accelerator physics.  Even though he retired from LBNL in 1991, he remained active in lab projects and student training until his death in 2000.

The award was funded by attocube, InSync, Inc., Luxel, and SAES Group.






Tim Renner User Services Award for Outstanding Support to the ALS User Community

2013-renner-pepperThe Tim Renner User Services Award was awarded to John Pepper, "For enabling advanced studies of matter at the Advanced Light Source by inventing, designing and building novel instrumentation and for helping users and ALS staff to tackle everyday problems."


Tim Renner was a beamline scientist at the ALS who died at an early age, and who during his career touched everyone that knew him with his caring attitude to others and his larger-than-life personality. This award recognizes the services of others across the ALS organization who, like Tim, have made outstanding contributions to the ALS User Community.

The award was funded by Agilent Technolgies, npoint, and piezosystem jena.



Student Poster Competition Award Winners

The ALS Student Poster Competition is a fun ALS User Meeting tradition that gives recognition to significant student research conducted at the ALS. Twenty-five students from universities across the nation and throughout the world created posters about their work for this year’s event and all were given a brief opportunity to speak about their research during the poster session and the poster "slam". First prize went to Royce Lam (UC Berkeley), pictured at left. Natalia Martin and Claudia Palumbiny won second and third places, respectively.

All the student awards were funded by Zeiss/XRadia.