LBNL Masthead A-Z IndexBerkeley Lab mastheadU.S. Department of Energy logoPhone BookJobsSearch
Janos Kirz Print

Scientific Advisor, Advanced Light SourceErnest Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Stony Brook University.


Advanced Light Source
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road, MS 15R0317
Berkeley, CA 94720 USA 
Tel. (510) 486-5423
Fax (510) 486-4960

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Dr. Janos Kirz was born in Budapest, Hungary. He came to the University of California, Berkeley in 1957 and received his Bachelor of Arts from there two years later. He did his graduate work with Berkeley Lab's Alvarez group, under the direction of Bob Tripp, using the 72" bubble chamber at the Bevatron. After receiving his PhD from UC Berkeley in 1963, he spent a year as an NRC postdoctoral fellow at CEN-Saclay, France, returning to Berkeley Lab the following year to conduct research in meson spectroscopy. In 1968, Kirz joined the faculty of Stony Brook University where he continued to work in high-energy physics until 1980, performing experiments at Brookhaven National Laboratory, the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, and Fermilab. He became interested in x-ray optics and synchrotron radiation during a year spent in Dorothy Hodgkins' lab at Oxford University, and subsequently devoted his time to the development of x-ray microscopy, spectromicroscopy, holography, and diffraction imaging at the National Synchrotron Light Source.

Kirz spent part of a sabbatical year at Berkeley Lab during 1993-94, and a full year in 2002-2003 during which time he initiated an experimental program at the ALS in diffraction imaging. He served on the ALS Users' Executive Committee from 1987-89, on the Scientific Advisory Committee, and on several review committees.

Kirz is currently SUNY Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Stony Brook University, where he served as Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy from 1998-2001. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He received an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship in 1970, and a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1985.