LBNL Masthead A-Z IndexBerkeley Lab mastheadU.S. Department of Energy logoPhone BookJobsSearch
ALS Doctoral Fellowship in Residence Print
Monday, 26 July 2010 09:21

The Advanced Light Source (ALS), a division of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, is a national user facility that generates intense x-ray radiation for scientific and technological research. As the world's first third-generation synchrotron radiation source, the ALS offers outstanding performance in the VUV-soft x-ray energy range and excellent performance into the hard x-ray region. The facility welcomes researchers from universities, industries, and government laboratories around the world. It is funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Basic Energy Sciences.


Applications to Shape the Future of Synchrotron Radiation Science

Synchrotron radiation is now an established tool in many areas of physical and biological science. The ALS Doctoral Fellowships will allow beginning researchers to work at the frontier of synchrotron radiation research and to help advance state-of-the-art applications.

The Fellowships enable students who have passed their Ph.D. qualifying or comprehensive verbal and written exams (generally third-year students) to acquire hands-on scientific training and develop professional maturity for independent research. Applicants must be full-time, currently enrolled students in a Ph.D. program in the physical or biological sciences, pursuing thesis research based on the use of synchrotron radiation.

The fellowships are offered as one-year appointments with the possibility of renewal. Successful applicants will be compensated with a $18,000 annual stipend. Additionally, fellows will be matched with an on-site mentor (generally a beamline scientist) and have access to ALS resources, including beamtime. Fellows are expected to present their results at a meeting or as a seminar at the end of the fellowship year.


Applications are due by the end of June each year, for an appointment to coincide with the following academic year.

Interested applicants should submit a completed application form, a two-page description of their research plan, a resume with publications list, and two to three letters of reference by e-mail to Jerry Kekos, or by mail to

ALS Doctoral Fellowship in Residence
c/o Jerry Kekos
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road, M/S 80R0114
Berkeley, CA 94720

Individuals from underrepresented groups are encouraged to apply.


2012–2013 Fellowship Winners

The selection committee selected the following award recipients for the 2012–2013 academic year:

Faye Bowles (University of California, Davis)
Michael Brady
Xiaodan Gu (University of Massachusetts)
John Jameson (Marquette University)
Ali Tan
Eryin Wang
Su-Yang Xu (Princeton University)
Lin Xue
Jan-chi Yang



These exceptional Ph.D. students have been selected to perform a major part of their thesis work at the ALS during a one-year appointment covering the 2012–2013 academic year.